Ceiling Blues

Standard

IMG_0095I heard the crash, the ceiling done come down
Left a hole – it was quite large and round —
Couldn’t see no heaven in that wound

The plaster – it done give up the ghost
Dead and gone, that sentinel left its post
Guarding up above longer than most

I called the fix-it man to come and see
He looked up at it and cried out “Lawd-ee!
I was expecting somethin’ smaller to see.”

The Good Lord, He don’t need a hole to view
The troubles that come down on me and you
And always gives the strength to see us through

 

*****

Forgive me. I know this is bad.

3 thoughts on “Ceiling Blues

Leave a Reply

