Aubade/Serenade

Standard
Sunrise in Greene

Sunrise in Greene

Pink sky at dawn
I’m sad that you’re gone

Sunset in Cooperstown

Sunset in Cooperstown

Pink sky at night
You’re such a delight

*****

An aubade is a morning song, a serenade an evening song.

I stared and shuddered at the prospect of writing an aubade. Really. How could I write a love poem to the dawn? So I coupled it with a serenade, wrote a couple of couplets, and called it done.

I love dawn. I love my friends named Dawn, too. Quite frankly, it would have been easier to write a love poem about one of my Dawns than any dawn.

Dawn (the time of day) is a transcendent moment of beauty. It’s  obvious why some civilizations worshipped the sun. Some days it takes my breath away.

One thought on “Aubade/Serenade

Leave a Reply

