Dear Mom

Standard

Dear Mom,

We were never good at emotion words

But I knew you loved me.

You drove me to:

  • school
  • band
  • 4-H
  • friend’s houses
  • summer camp
  • here
  • there
  • everywhere

You made food
Lots of it

  • apple walnut cake
  • orange iced dessert
  • chocolate cake with mocha whipped cream
  • seafood lasagne
  • every kind of soup
  • then a few more kinds of soup
  • simmer-simmer-simmer on the wood stove soups
  • salad
  • fluffernutter sandwiches

And you didn’t let me eat dessert first
Even though that’s where I listed them

And you did buy marshmallow fluff
Because you knew I inherited Dad’s sweet tooth

You came to my concerts
And the day I won the spelling award
And my graduations

You flew across the country
After I gave birth
To your first grandson

And you were present in my life
And the lives of my children
With your sayings
And your bargain shopping
And your plant growing
and your marmalade

Today I miss you

And I want you to know I love you

Even though we really didn’t say those words often enough.

Sincerely,
Sally

scn_0010

2 thoughts on “Dear Mom

Leave a Reply

